Tama Co. Cattleman’s Banquet, Jackson crowned 2020 Beef Queen

2020 Tama County Beef Queen Frances Jackson, pictured with her parents Matt and Ann Jackson

Frances Jackson of Garwin was crowned the 2020 Tama County Beef Queen at the annual Tama County Cattleman’s banquet in March. The outgoing queen from 2019 was Zoe Duncan of Garwin. The role of the Beef Queen will be altered to stay within the Socially Acceptable Guidelines in regard to the COVID-19. She will help promote beef and assist at any beef promotions. Queen Frances is the daughter of Matt and Ann Jackson of Garwin.

The meal was catered by Spanky’s of Gladbrook. Iowa Premium Beef donated the meat for the meal held at the Memorial Building in Traer.

Tama County Cattlemen’s President Kyle Herink welcomed guests and called on Board Member Doug Edler to offer the Invocation. Rounding out the Executive Board are Vice-President Joe Hoeg, Secretary Tyler Beenken and Treasurer Alex Kubik. Board members include Doug Edler, Matt Jackson, Ben Novak, Jim Wauters, Dallas Dvorak, Jason Hamann, Steve Murty and Randy Parizek.

Featured Guest Speaker was Bill Goehring. He is the owner of Keosauqua Sales Co. Inc. This is a very large livestock sale barn located in south-east Iowa.

Special “Thanks” were extended to 2019 Beef Queen Zoe Duncan and 2019 Beef Ambassadors Taylor Lekin and Zoe Duncan. They spent untold hours helping during promotions, riding in parades and helping the Cattlemen with activities. One activity of note is the grilling and donation of 200 burgers at a home football game for every school in Tama County. Also Award Premium Money was donated to every Beef Exhibitor at the Tama County Fair.

During the Presentation of Awards the Market Beef Rate of Gain from the 2019 Tama County Fair was announced. First place with an Average Daily Gain (ADG) o f3.87 was Connor Murty. Nathan Kucera took second place with an ADG of 3.66. Dylan Hosek came in third with an ADG of 3.42.

Champion Advanced Per of 3 was won by Conner Murty. Layne Murty took Reserve Advanced Pen of 3 Honors. Champion Beginner Pen of 3 was won by Rhianna Murty. Andrea Dvorak was named Reserve Beginner Pen of 3.

New this year is the Herd Builder Champion. Named Champion was Frances Jackson. Rhianna Murty took Reserve Herd Builder honors.

The coveted honor of Champion Tamco Steer was won by Showperson Connor Murty. Producer was Steve Murty. Reserve Tamco Steer was shown by Katelyn Kucera. Bruce Kucera was Producer.

Champion Tamco Heifer was shown by Adelyn Sienknecht and Randy Sienknecht was the Producer. Reserve Tamco Heifer was shown by Thomas Hulme. Matt Cibula was the Producer.

The Trophy Auction for the 2020 Tama County Beef Show concluded the evening.