RESULTS: Cross country runners take on conference meets

STC’s James Brant and Tommy Tyynismaa are among a string of runners taking off at the start of the WaMaC Conference Meet last Thursday. The duo earned all-conference honors with Tyynismaa finishing fifth and Brant eighth. The Trojans head back to Solon this week to compete against a field of 12 schools in the 3A state-qualifying district race. -- Photo by Ruby F. Bodeker

WaMaC Conference Meet

Oct. 14 – Solon Recreation Area

Boys Results

South Tama, 5th Place, 143 points

Place Name Time

Among a talented field of WaMaC teams, the South Tama boys earned a fifth place finish at their conference meet last Thursday. Pictured are, from left, Cade Rosenberger, James Brant, Tommy Tyynismaa, Jonathan Meyer, Trusten Rosenberger and Braxten Rohrs. Senior Clayton Graff is not pictured but also ran with the varsity team. -- Photo by Ruby F. Bodeker

5 Tommy Tyynismaa 16:57.4

8 James Brant 17:03.2

39 Braxten Rohrs 18:48.4

40 Trusten Rosenberger 18:49.0

51 Cade Rosenberger 19:09.2

South Tama sophomore Mary Kate Frakes works through a pack of runners during the WaMaC Conference Meet held Oct. 14 in Solon. Frakes finished in 41st place with a time of 22:20.3.

62 Clayton Graff 19:36.9

66 Jonathan Meyer 19:51.8

Ind. Champion: Eli Larson, CP-U, 15:52.2

Team Champion: Marion, 38 points

Girls Results

Maeley Elsbury, South Tama County

South Tama, 10th Place, 285 points

Place Name Time

30 JoJo Tyynismaa 21:19.1

41 Mary Kate Frakes 22:20.3

60 Kayla Heck 23:34.6

Kayla Heck, South Tama County

69 Maeley Elsbury 24:57.2

85 Alexis Crouch 33:10.1

Ind. Champion: Kora Katcher, 19:27.0

Team Champion: Solon, 48 points

Iowa Star Conference Meet

Meskwaki’s Zayton Weninger-Brown and Dayvin Guevara head down a long straightaway to start off the Iowa Star Conference Meet last Thursday. The two were the only Meskwaki runners in the boys race, finishing 17th and 21st respectively. -- Photo by Darvin Graham

Oct. 14 – Wartburg Max Course, Waverly

Boys Results

Place Name Time

17 Zayton Weninger-Brown 19:49.0

21 Dayvin Guevara 19:55.0

Senior Shye Johnson takes off at the start of the Iowa Star Conference Meet in Waverly on Oct. 14. Johnson finished in fourth place at the conference meet with teammate Wakinyela Bear finishing eighth. -- Photo by Darvin Graham

Ind. Champion: Isaac Natvig, Valley Lutheran, 16:41.0

Team Champion: Valley Lutheran, 21 points

Girls Results

Place Name Time

4 Shye Johnson 21:38.0

Wakinyela Bear, Meskwaki Settlement School

8 Wakinyela Bear 22:16.0

Ind. Champion: Grace Lidgett, 20:12.0

Team Champion: Collins-Maxwell, 39 points