Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Induct into Phi Theta Kappa honor society

November 10, 2019
From: Michele Frost - Marketing Coordinator- Iowa Valley Community College District , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

MARSHALLTOWN - The Alpha Iota Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Marshalltown Community College inducted 24 new members this week. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year colleges. To qualify for membership, MCC students must be enrolled in a diploma or two-year degree program with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average or higher, and have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours.

From this area they inlcude: Megan Jordan, Toledo; Jenna Cremeans, Tyler Moran and Eleina Rivera, all of Tama; Shannon Peters, Mnotour; and Christian Deam, Garwin.

PTK Co-Advisor Pele Waddilove welcomed the inductees and guests. She gave a history of the organization and reviewed the local chapter's annual activities, most of which focus on service and leadership. Since the MCC chapter was chartered in 1984, it has inducted 965 members, including the 24 new members inducted this week.

IVCCD Chancellor Dr. Kristie Fisher was the guest speaker, and she talked about the fact that "there is life after college." She encouraged the PTK inductees to be curious, ask questions, and be learners for life; to build expertise and take risks; to understand that every job is a "tech job;" to learn to deal with ambiguity, and to be humble and learn from peers and mentors.

As inductees signed the membership book and received a PTK stole, PTK Co-Advisor PJ Colbert read a short biographical statement about each new member. Each inductee then lit a candle signifying the torch of knowledge, and all recited the membership pledge. Assisting with the ceremony were Chapter President Tiffany Thomas, member Olivia Stone, and member Lotte Van Malsen



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web