Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Update: School, city candidate filings is slow

September 12, 2019
By John Speer - Editor ( , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

Candidates for school board, mayor and city council have just over a week to file nomination papers to be on the ballot for the combined Nov. 5 school and city elections. The deadline to file with South Tama School Board Secretary Mary Boege or with respective city clerks for city offices is Thursday, Sept. 19 at 5 p.m.

For South Tama, Mandy Lekin, Toledo, has said she will seek reelection to Director District No. 2 and Penny Tyynismaa, Tama, also has indicated she will seek reelection to the Director District No. 3 Post. Log-time board member Jackie Dvorak announced she will nit seek reelection to the director District no. 5 seat she has held since 1999.

City- Monday Morning, Sept. 8, Report

Article Photos

No candidates have filed for the Toledo mayor post or two at-large council seats according to Karen Rohrs, elections commissioner in the office of Tama County Auditor and commissioner of elections Laura Kopsa. The Toledo seats are held currently by John Lloyd - mayor, Steve Vesely - at-large and Joe Boll, 2nd ward, the last carry-over seat from the former ward system which is be at large effective Jan. 1,2020.

The council terms are for four years and the mayor serves two years.

City candidates must also file with the Auditor-Commisoner of Elections Office by the Sept. 19 deadline.

Jeff Large is the lone candidate to file so far for three at-large city council seats on the November ballot in Tama. The three council spots are currently held by Robert Tyynismaa, Aaron Haughey and Kenny McAdoo.

Also on the ballot in Tama is the mayor's post currently filled by Mike Carnahan. Council and mayor positions in Tama are both both for four years.

As previously reported, there will be a race for Montour City Council with Alan Kelley Vicky Garske and Jeff Hermanstorfer seeking the two seats on the November ballot. Terms for current council members Susan Eberhardt and Charlie Bidwell expire this year. The mayor's post currently held by Luther Heller in Montour is also on the ballot.

Gordon Fassett has filed for reelection as Clutier mayor along with Pete Holden for mayor of Traer. Linn Snell is seeking the Elberon mayor's post and Michael Sharp is a candidate for Dysart mayor.

in Traer, incumbents Laurie Scafer and Carrie Holst have filed for reelection to the city council and PaTrisha Kennedy has also filed for one of three at-large seats.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web