Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Four from South Tama boys, girls teams selected for WaMaC west vs. east shootout

March 15, 2019
By Allison Graham - Sports Editor ( , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

The annual WaMaC West vs. WaMaC East senior shootout is this Saturday. South Tama coaches Todd Dale and Dustin Peska nominated players from their teams to participate in the event. From the STC girls team Zoee Buffalo, Jaelin Berger and Jessica Musgrave will participate and from the STC boys team Keith Keahna will participate.

The girls game will tipoff at 5:30 p.m. with the boys to follow at 7 p.m. The event will be hosted at Benton Community Schools in Van Horn.

To be selected players must be nominated by their coaches and meet the following criteria: must be a senior, must be a quality athlete and individual and must be eligible by school policy.

Article Photos

Girls Teams

The WaMaC West Girls Team will be coached by Phillip Klett. Klett coaches Center Point Urbana who are the Class 3A State Champions. The team includes: Kasi McWorter (Benton), Rylee Clark (CPU), Callyn Fox (CPU), Karly Millikin (CPU), Madie Wilson (CPU), Taylor Wendt (Independence), Jaelin Berger (STC), Zoee Buffalo (STC), Jessica Musgrave (STC) and Taylor Spies (Vinton).

The WaMaC East Girls Team will be coached by Corby Laube. Laube is the coach for the Marion Indians who took runner up to North Scott in the Class 4A State Championship game last month. The team includes: Sydney Arens (Beckman), Tara Hansel (Beckman), Sydney Steffen (Beckman) Emily Swanson( Central DeWitt), Randi Wright (Marion), Bri Bennis (Maquoketa), Sammy Moss (Mt. Vernon) and Ashley Vis (Mt. Vernon).

Boys Teams

The WaMaC West boys team consists of : Nathan Michels (Benton), Dylan Spina (Benton), Cody Westscott (CPU), Cam Haslette (CPU), Sean Geertsema (Independence), Nolan Schwartin (Clear Creek Amana), Nolan Haisman (Vinton), Isaac Wiley (Vinton) and Keith Keahna (STC).

The WaMaC East boys team consists of: AJ Becker (Maquoketa), Macklin Shanahon (Maquoketa), Kane Kopp (Maquoketa), Trevor Paulson (Marion), Mason Raye (Marion), Matthew Brase (Marion), Shawn Deutmeyer (Beckman), Seamus O'Connor (Beckman), Derek Korgmann (West Delaware).

Admission to the event is $5.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web