Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

City office filing deadline drawing near

County-wide wrap

September 14, 2017
By John Speer - Editor ( , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

Candidates for city offices have until Thursday, Sept. 21, to file nomination papers for city offices. City elections are Nov. 7.

In Toledo, positions currently held by Mayor Dave Svoboda, and council members Travis Mullen Brian Sokol and Terry Goodhart are on the ballot. The mayor's post is for a two-year term and the council members, who all will be elected to at-large seats are for four-year terms.

Mullen and Goodhart have been serving as 1st and 3rd ward members with Sokol an at-large council member.

Article Photos

In the Nov. 8, 2016, General Election, Toledo voters chose to scrap the old ward system in favor of electing all posts at-large by a vote of 592-283. Toledo had three wards with council candidates required to live in the boundaries of the ward for which they were seeking office.

Only voters in the particular ward could decide those contests. Now, office seekers and voters may live anywhere within the city limits to vote for any council candidate. By Monday, Sept. 11, only incumbent at-large council member Brian Sokol had filed nomination papers.

In Tama, the mayor's post held by Mike Carnahan will be on the ballot to fill the two-year, unexpired term of Dan Zimmerman who resigned. Carnahan was appointed by the council as mayor until the November city election.

Also on the ballot will be at-large council seats currently held by Doug Ray and Emily Babinat. Both spots are for four-year terms.

No one had filed nomination papers for any of the Tama seats as of Monday morning, Sept. 11, according to Karen Rohrs, elections administrator in the office of Tama County Auditor Laura Kopsa.

-County-Wide Seats On Ballot-

Montour- At large-council seats currently by Bill Eberhart, Vicki Garske and Mike Buchanan are on the Nov. 8 ballot for four-year terms.

Chelsea- Mayor Craig Forcht's post and council seats currently occupied by Doris Frese and Amy Walters will be on the ballot, all for two-year terms.

Vining- For two year terms, posts now held by Mayor George Bazal and council members Arlo Cibula, Bob Kesl, Janet Stout, Fred Vore and Jeff Vore will be up for election.

Elberon- Mayor Timothy Miller's position for a two-year term and council seats now held by Nancy Braasch, Faye Fisher and Bruce Swyter are on the ballot for four-year terms.

Garwin- Mayor Wilford Karsjen seat is up for reelection for a tow-year term and council seats held by Dean Brittenham and Rick Raymond will be on the ballot for four year at-large seats.

Clutier- Posts held by Mayor Gordon Fassett and council members Karen Guglielmetti, Blake Pearson, Deann Weber, Linda Pearson amd Krista Wacha are all on the ballot for two-year terms.

Traer- Seats held by Mayor Pete Holden and council members Stephen Fsoter and Craig Youel wil be on hte ballot. The mayor's terms is for two years and council terms are for four years.

Gladbrook- Mayor Keith Sash and council members Betty Dahms, Ben Goos and Roger Luchring positions are on the ballot. The mayor serves a two-year term and the counicil posts are for four-years.

Lincoln- Mayor Tret Wentzien and council members Michelle Clark, John Eilers, Richard Ellis, Vance Sebbert and Eric Moore posts will all be on the ballot for two-year terms.

Dysart- Council seats held currently by Tom Brandt, Timothy Glenn and Bret Hennessy are on the ballot for four-year terms.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web