Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

AAUW honors Middle School Women of the Year

June 15, 2014
By Rebecca Chyma , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

The annual AAUW Middle School Academic Awards banquet was hosted by the Tama-Toledo branch of the American Association of University Women on May 4 at 3:00 at the Reinig Center with member Marilyn Rippy delivering the welcoming address to the honorees and their guests. A dessert buffet was served with presentation of the awards following. The purpose of this event is to recognize and encourage young women who are developing their diverse talents and abilities while demonstrating excellence in the classroom.

The keynote speaker for the event was Rachel Wobeter, a 2005 South Tama graduate and 2009 Luther College graduate, who has pursued her passion for growing and marketing local foods in her role as UNI's Local Food Program Manager. Rachel shared stories of her personal and professional evolution which involved service as an AmeriCorps volunteer in the Farm to School program, a trip to Europe with meager possessions, restaurant experience, and her current position in Cedar Falls with the Center for Energy and Environmental Education which links her to farmers and businesses to create a regional food and agriculture system. Rachel encouraged the girls to follow their passions, to develop a network of supportive people who are connections to jobs and experiences, and to venture outside the box to realize their dreams.

Eighteen girls from South Tama Middle School and Meskwaki Settlement School were honored for their achievements in math, science, social studies and literacy. Each was nominated by a teacher who wrote a letter detailing the nominee's accomplishments, character traits, and attributes which defined her as an outstanding student. This letter was read to the audience and a framed copy was presented to the nominee. AAUW members Sue Anderson, Becca Chyma, Carol Meyer, and Yvonne Mallory, along with Meskwaki School educators Jill Herink and Janet Larsen, introduced the recipients. A special Achievement in Accelerated Math award was presented by 8th grade math teacher, Kathy Wilkerson, to Lauren Gumm as well.

Article Photos

STC Middle School and Meskwaki Settlement School Math awards- Eleina Rivera, Kaitlyn Jefferson, Enriqueta Diego, Mikayla Backen, Lauren Gumm, Kacee Hamor. Not pictured Sharlie Waseskuk.

Chronicle photos/John Speer

Honored for achievement in math were:

Meskwaki 6th grader Katelyn Jefferson, daughter of Donnielle Wanatee and LaVern Jefferson. STC 6th grader Makayla Backen, daughter of Trevor and Holly Backen. Meskwaki 7th grader Sharlie Waseskuk daughter of Talia Waseskuk.

STC 7th grader Enriqueta Diego daughter of Melinda Diego.

Meskwaki 8th grader Eleina Rivera daughter of Mary YoungBear.

STC 8th grader Kacee Hamor daughter of Cindy Hamor.

STC 8th grader Lauren Gumm daughter of Brian and Erin Gumm .

Honored for achievement in Literacy were:

STC 6th grader Hanah Novotny daughter of Eric and Sarah Novotny.

STC 7th grader Dalaynee Henle daughter of Dirk and Daneen Henle.

STC 8th grader Abbie Parizek daughter of Dan and Amy Parizek.

Honored for achievement in Social Studies were:

STC 6th grader Julie Matta daughter of Rudolfo and Maria Matta.

STC 7th grader Blaze Lacey daughter of Shannon Blackburn and Greg Lacey.

STC 8th grader Abbie Parizek daughter of Dan and Amy Parizek.

Honored for achievement in Science were:

Meskwaki 6th grader Payton Tahahwah daughter of Mary Lasley and Ray Tahahwah.

STC 6th grader Haylie Prugh daughter of Nathan and Jennifer Prugh.

Meskwaki 7th grader Marybelle Armajo daughter of Dara Xaivong and Jason Jefferson.

STC 7th grader Emma Koehler daughter of Mindi Koehler and Corey Koehler.

Meskwaki 8th grader Eleina Rivera daughter of Mary YoungBear.

STC 8th grader Saylor Upah daughter of Marlys Upah and Dean Upah.

The local branch of AAUW under the leadership of president Trudy Koch, will continue to inspire and support South Tama County Middle School and Meskwaki Settlement School girls with an annual banquet. AAUW members Sue Anderson, Sue Bugge, Becca Chyma, Berleen Wobeter, Dean Fisher, Sue Haughey, Ann Kuhter, Yvonne Mallory, Carol Meyer, Anne Michael, Marilyn Rippy, Kathy Wilkerson, Becky Geisler, Pam Rutledge, Trudy Koch, and Rhonda Shaw, sincerely appreciate the dedication of local teachers who nominate these girls each year.

The mission of AAUW is to promote equity for all women and girls, lifelong education, and positive societal change. Contact Yvonne Mallory at 484-5169 if you are interested in learning more about AAUW.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web