Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Vern Jefferson to receive U.S. Congressional Badge for Bravery

May 2, 2014
Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

U.S. Senator Tom Harkin will present Officer Vern Jefferson of the Marshalltown Police Department with the U.S. Department of Justice Congressional Badge of Bravery for his work in detaining suspects who were robbing the Lenox Employees Credit Union. Officer Jefferson was shot in the line of duty while apprehending suspects.

The ceremony will take place beginining at 3:15 p.m. at the Marshalltown City Council Chambers, 10 West State Street

Following the award presentation, Harkin will host a roundtable discussion with key law enforcement officials.

Jefferson served as a Tama police officer before joining the Marshalltown Polcie department.

Participants may include: Ken Runde, U.S. Marshal, Northern District of Iowa; Mike Bladel, U.S. Marshal, Southern District of Iowa; Nick Klinefeldt, U.S. Attorney, Southern District; Chief Mike Tupper, Marshalltown PD; Sheriff Ted Kamatchus, Marshall County; Sheriff Paul Fitzgerald, Story County, Sheriff Bill McCarthy, Polk County; and Dale Woolery, Associate Director, Governor's Office of Drug Control Policy (ODCP).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web