Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Dejardin, Mallory reelected to head Iowa Valley Board

October 17, 2013
From Robin Anctil - Director of Marketing, Iowa Valley Community College District , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

The Iowa Valley Community College District Board of Directors reelected Conrad Dejardin of Marshalltown as board president and Yvonne Mallory of Toledo as vice president at their regular meeting on Wednesday, Oct. 9.

Dejardin has been board president for seven years and is a 15-year member of the board. Mallory has served 13 years on the board.

Both were reelected to the leadership posts on unanimous votes.

Article Photos

Conrad Dejardin and Yvonne Mallory- head Iowa Valley community College District Board of Directors.

Job Training Approved

The board approved job training programs with ImageFirst LLC of Grinnell, ASI Signage Innovations of Grinnell and Oldcastle Materials Group (dba Cessford Construction) of LeGrand when it met this week.

The $20,000 agreement with ImageFirst, Iowa Valley's first contract with that company, will provide Lean, welding and production equipment training for 18 ImageFirst employees. ImageFirst is a leading architectural sign manufacturer affiliated with ASI Signage. The second job training agreement, with ASI Signage, also for $20,000, will provide management skills, procurement, sales and product training for 23 ASI employees. This is Iowa Valley's fifth contract with ASI.

The second business network application, with Oldcastle Materials dba Cessford Construction, includes four companies and three Iowa community college training partners in addition to Iowa Valley and Cessford. Under terms of that agreement, 40 Cessford employees will receive training in management education and safety.

In other matters, the Board: re-elected Conrad Dejardin of Marshalltown as board president and Yvonne Mallory of Tama as vice president; approved a $75,000 settlement with Holland Contracting Corporation for damages related to water piping at the Ellsworth Equestrian Center; approved an articulation agreement (for transfer of college credit) with the University of Wisconsin-Platteville; and approved agreements with several area high schools (Lynnville-Sully, Iowa Falls, Grundy Center, East Marshall, South Hardin and West Marshall) for the provision of college-level instruction to those high school students.

Several gifts were accepted by the Board, including Halloween costumes, decorations, make-up and party supplies donated by Pam Swarts to the Marshalltown Community College Youth for Understanding international exchange program; and monetary gifts from Bonita Harrington and Walden James Paige, Orland Joens, Jennifer and J.P. Howard and Marian and Steven Hyde to the Friends of the Orpheum.

The next regular meeting of the IVCCD Board of Directors will be at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 13, at Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web