Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

It’s a four-way race for two Tama Council spots

County-Wide Wrap

September 27, 2013
By John Speer - Editor ( , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

By John Speer


Incumbent Tama City Council member Robert Tyynismaa is not seeking reelection on Nov. 5 leaving current member Mike Carnahan and three challengers vying for two city council seats.

Article Photos

Carnahan was appointed to the council in January, 2012, to fill the unexpired term of Dan Zimmerman who was elected Tama Mayor and is seeking election to a four-year term.

Also in the race are Doug Ray and Jarade Purk who have filed nomination papers. John Anderson announced ina Letter to The News-Herald he will seek a council position as a write-in candidate.

All Tama council posts are elected at-large.




Toledo Mayor Dave Svoboda and two council members are in contested races in the Nov. 5 city elections.

Pam Wood, who Svoboda unseated in 2011, is making a bid to retake the mayor's post. In the '11 vote, Svoboda topped Wood and a second challenger, Jared Zimmermann.

For council member at-large, incumbent Brian Sokol faces Carol Peterie and Curt Raue. Sokol has served one four-year term.

In Ward 1, incumbent Travis Mullen is being challenged by Larry Simpson, Jim Lyon and Melissa Johnson. Mullen also has served one term.

Joe Boll is running for Ward 2 and Terry Goodhart for Ward 3 council seats, both unopposed.

Goodhart is currently serving as 2nd Ward council member, but his residence location shifted to the 3rd Ward due to reapportionment following the 2010 Census. The 2nd Ward post sought by Boll is for two years to fill the unexpired term of Goodhart.

Elmer "Skip" Wilson, current 3rd Ward council member, is not seeking reelection.

The fifth Toledo Council seat is held by Jeff Filloon who was elected to a four-year term in 2011.


Craig Forcht is seeking to move from city council to mayor in Chelsea. Incumbent Leif Morris is not seeking reelection.

Incumbents Dixie Forcht, Aaron Balvin, Steve VanDeWalle and Kurtis S. Kelley are joined by Juliana E. Vokoun to fill the five two-year council spots.


No candidates have filed for three at-large seats in Montour. The four-year terms will be filled by write-in.


In a race for Mayor of Clutier, Gordon Fassett faces Phillip Clark Breja. The post is a two-year term.

There will be four candidates on the ballot for five spots on the Clutier Council. Incumbent Linda Pearson is joined by Krista Walker, Barbara Baseman and Blake Pearson. A write-in will fill the fifth spot.


A write-in candidate will win the mayor's seat in Elberon. Seeking four-year council terms are Nancy Braasch and Faye Fisher. A third seat for a four-year term and a vacant two-year term will be filled by write-in vote.


No candidate has filed nomination papers for mayor. As a result a write-in will be elected Garwin Mayor.

Two candidates are seeking the two four-year council terms in Garwin. They are Dean Brittenham and Matt DeSchamp.


Gladbrook Mayor Keith Sash is seeking reelection unopposed. Incumbents for three at-large council seats, Roger Luehring and Betty Dahms are seeking reelection and Ben Goos is also in the running.


Mayor Pete Holden is unopposed for reelection to a two-year term in Traer. Craig Josh Yuel and Stephen Foster are seeking four-year council terms.


Three incumbents are seeking reelection and a fourth candidate is in the running for three, four-year city council terms in Dysart. Current council members Bret D. Hennessy, Tom W. Brandt and Tim Glenn are joined by Al C. Schafbuch in seeking seats.


Incumbent council member Herbert Trent Wentzien is seeking the Lincoln mayor's post unopposed.

Councilmembers seeking reelection to two-year terms are Michelle Clark, John Eilers and Vance Sebbert. Two council positions will be filed by write-in.

Issues before voters in Toledo,

Chelsea, Clutier

Voters in Toledo will decide on Nov. 5 whether to up the city hotel-motel tax to seven percent and if a board member from the rural area should be included in the make-up of the library board.

Toledo currently collects five percent in motel taxes.

City council members decided to seek the change which, if passed, would keep Toledo in line with other surrounding cities which are at seven percent.

The tax generates about $48,000 annually according to City Clerk Julie Wilkerson. This is divided equally between the city General Fund and an account to support tourism-type activities.

The Toledo Library Board of Trustees believes including a member living outside the city limits would provide a more fair representation, Jennifer Bledsoe, library director said.

The library does receive some county funding.

Currently, the ordinance governing the library board's make up requires all members to live within the city limits.


Chelsea voters will decide whether to stagger city council terms beginning in 2015.

Currently all five Chelsea council members are elected for two-year terms.

Under the proposed public measure, the top three vote-getters in 2013 would have their posts back on the ballot in2015 for four-year terms.

The other two seats would be for two-year terms on the 2015 Chelsea city ballot, then be for four-year terms in 2017.


In Clutier, a measure to reduce the number of library trustees from nine to seven will be on the ballot.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web