Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

South Tama, Iowa Valley school votes are Tuesday, Sept. 10

September 5, 2013
By John Speer - Editor ( , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

When they go to the polls on Sept. 10, voters in the South Tama School District will decide the fate of a renewal of the Physical Plant and Equipment Levy (PPEL)?for 10 years, elect directors for District 1 and 4 and cast ballots for District 6 director in the Iowa Valley Community College District. Polls will be open from noon- 8 p.m.

The three director positions and the PPEL?are all voted on district-wide. The candidates are required to live within the boundaries of the district for which they are seeking a seat.

THE?PPEL?renewal requires a simple majority vote.

Article Photos

South Tama School Director Districts designated D1 and D4 are on the Sept. 10 school election ballot. Candidates must live within the district boundaries to be eligible to serve while voters district-wide vote for directors. There is no candidate for Director District 4 meaning a write-in candidate will fill the seat.
Graphic from South Tama Schools

According to the South Tama schools website, among uses for the funds are to pay for "construction of buildings, purchasing property, buses and technology equipment, and energy conservation expenditures."

The current levy rate of $1.34 per $1,000 property valuation would remain the same as it is now over the entire 10-year period, Mary Boegge, district business manager told The Chronicle earlier when the school board decided to add the issue for the Sept. 10 vote.

Michelle Yuska, Toledo, incumbent 1st District board member, is seeking reelection to a third, four-year term. She is unopposed.

It will be a write-in candidate for the District 4 position. The person chosen must live within the boundaries of the district. (See map Page 6).

Incumbent Ron Hala did not file for reelection and no other candidate came forward.

Yvonne Mallory, rural Toledo, is seeking reelection to a 5th term as District 6 board member of the Iowa?Valley Community?College District. This position is also for a four-year term.

In addition to the South Tama District, it also includes the Brooklyn-Guernsey-Malcom School District and a portion of the Grinnell-Newberg School District.

She is unopposed.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web