Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Iowa Valley Board approves faculty master contract

August 29, 2013
Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

MARSHALLTOWN The Iowa Valley Community College District Board of Directors approved a master contract with the faculty association that included a 3.93 percent total package cost increase when it met in regular session this week. The contract impacts all members of the Iowa Valley Community College Education Association, which includes faculty from Marshalltown Community College, Ellsworth Community College, and Iowa Valley Grinnell.

The increase is the same as non-faculty employees received.

IVCCD Board members heard an update on the District's Equity Review Compliance Plan and its five-year Facilities Plan presented by Brett Purvis, Director of Plant Services.

Purvis said the District received an Iowa Department of Education Equity Compliance Review in the spring, and was given a list of 45 projects that needed to be completed to achieve compliance; the projects included improvements to parking areas, loading zones, entrances, room spaces and much more, all related to accessibility.

He informed the Board that 42 of the 45 items have been completed, with the remaining three in progress. Purvis complimented the plant services staff for the quality and quantity of work that's been accomplished.

In terms of the District's Facilities Plan, Purvis said it includes more than 300 known facility improvement projects on all the campuses, and that about 170 of them have been completed.

The greatest challenge, he told Board members, is dealing with unanticipated issues and expenditures that necessitate shifting projects and priorities on a regular basis.

In other matters, the Board: accepted three gifts to the Friends of the Orpheum campaign, and one $7,500 donation from Patricia Jager Williams to the Jean Seberg International Film Festival; approved a revised Public Funds Authorization Resolution with United Bank & Trust; approved an amendment to the Workforce Investment Act (WIA) Region 6 Master Agreement; and approved an amendment to the District's articulation (transfer) agreement with Graceland University.

It was noted that the three incumbent Board members seeking re-election to the Iowa Valley Board of Directors (Yvonne Mallory, Deb Jones and Delbert Kellogg) will be unopposed on the Sept. 10 School Election ballot.

The next regular meeting of the IVCCD Board of Directors will be at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 11, at Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web