Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Deadline to file for school board posts is Aug. 1

South Tama, Iowa Valley, PPEL On Ballot

July 26, 2013
By John Speer - Editor ( , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

Those seeking seats on either the South Tama or Iowa Valley Community College school boards have until Aug. 1 to file nomination papers for placement of their names on the Sept. 10 election ballot.

In the South Tama School District, the Director District 1 post held by Michelle Yuska, Toledo, and the Director District 4 Post held by Ron Hala, rural Toledo, are on the ballot this year.

Yuska said earlier she will seek reelection to a third, four-year term. Hala was undecided then.

Article Photos

South Tama School Board Director Districts designated D1 and D4 on the map are on the ballot for the Sept. 10 school election. Nomination papers are due Aug. 1. South Tama graphic

No one had filed papers with District Secretary Mary Boege as of Tuesday afternoon, July 23.

STC District 1 is comprised mainly of the portion of the City of Toledo east of U.S. Highway 63, south of 270th Street, wets of M Avenue and north of the Toledo-Tama city limits.

STC District 4 includes portions of an area located west of U.S. 63, west of Tama, including the city of Montour and the Meskwaki Settlement and surrounding rural area.


Candidates for board seats must be residents of the district for which they seek to represent.

Nomination papers for South Tama School Board can be obtained from Boege at the School Administration Office, 1701 Harding. Monday-Friday, 7:30 a.m.- noon and 12:30-4:30 p.m.

They must be filed by 5 p.m. on Thursday, Aug. 1 with Boege.

Iowa Valley

Community College


Incumbent Yvonne Mallory, rural Toledo, said she will seek a fifth, four-year term on the Iowa Valley Board. She was circulating nomination papers last week.

Iowa Valley District 6 is comprised of the South Tama County School District, Brooklyn-Guernsey-Malcom Community School District and the portion of Grinnell-Newburg Community School District described as lying within MS precinct in Poweshiek County.

Nomination papers for the District 6 Iowa Valley board position are available from Iowa Valley Board Secretary Barb Jennings at the IVCCD administrative office, 3702 S. Center St. in Marshalltown, Monday-Friday between 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. or from the Marshall County Auditor's office in the Marshall County Courthouse.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web