Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

School levy renewal to be on South Tama Sept. 10 ballot

July 11, 2013
By Joyce Wiese - News Correspondent , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

A continuation for 10 years of the Physical Plant and Equipment Levy (PPEL) for the South Tama School District will be on the regular September school ballot. School board members meeting in special session voted 4-0 to include the question on Sept. 10. Board members voting in favor were Michelle Yuska, Ron Hala, Mark McFate and Anne Michael. Member Jackie Dvorak was absent.

The current levy expires June 30, 2014. It is .23802 cents per $1,000 property tax valuation.

Mary Boege was reappointed as South Tama County School Board secretary and treasurer for the 2013-2014 year. Boege also is the district business manager.

Article Photos

The South Tama School Board.
Chronicle file photo


Contracts were approved for Dan Lopez for National Honor Society, $1,626 and Dustin Schuett, maintenance, $17 hourly beginning July 20.

Two resignations were received, Alison Brezina, bus driver, effective June 28, and George Kuhter as boys high school varsity track coach, effective June 1, 2014.

In other business:

approved for school district fund depositories were Chelsea Savings Bank, The State Bank of Toledo, Lincoln Savings Bank and Pinnacle Bank, all with upper limits of $6,000,000.

elementary and preschool handbooks were discussed and approved with one minor change.

reviewed were the Affirmative Action Plan, Bullying and Harassment Policies and the Wellness Policy with no changes.

adult lunches were priced at $3. According to the program policies of the Board, they must increase the price to a minimum of $3.16. Board members voted to increase the adult lunch price to $3.25.

op for discussion was the Professional Development plans, the registration process and Iowa Public Schools Insurance Pool.

registration will be on Aug. 5, and families will be able to register and pay online.

STC will continue with the Iowa Public Schools Insurance Program pool. This includes schools from Aplington-Parkersburg, Clear Lake, East Marshall, Iowa City, South East Polk and South Tama. Mason City has recently joined and will be added to the group. Superintendent Kerri Nelson recently attended a meeting of the pool members and said Jake Jacobson, Independent Insurance, Toledo was also there, explaining whatever questions which were asked.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web