Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Iowa FFA awards presented to local students

June 11, 2013
Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

Ames- The Iowa FFA Degree is the highest degree that can be bestowed upon an FFA member by the Iowa FFA Association each year. Only five percent of the FFA members in Iowa receive the degree each year. The degree was presented at the 85th Iowa FFA Leadership Conference on April 23, at Iowa State University, Ames,

To receive the Iowa FFA Degree, FFA members must meet the following standards:

1.) Have been an active FFA member for at least 24 months; 2.) Have completed at least two years of systematic instruction in agricultural education; 3.) Have earned and productively invested at least $1,000 or worked at least 300 hours in a supervised agricultural experience program; 4.) Have a satisfactory scholastic record; 5.) Have demonstrated leadership abilities from a specific list of activities; 6.) Have completed 25 hours of community service; and 7.) Have participated in at least five different FFA activities above the local level.

Article Photos

Iowa FFA Degree recipients from the STC FFA chapter. The students are (left to right): Bethany Wilson, Calvin Richardson, and Amy Novotny.
-Photos provided

Each Iowa FFA Degree recipient receives a certificate and the golden State FFA Degree Charm pin sponsored by Dupont Pioneer through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The Iowa FFA Association has 216 local chapters with 13,403 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 550,000.

The South Tama County FFA had three degree recipients: Amy Novotny, Calvin Richardson, and Bethany Wilson. These students worked throughout their high school careers to achieve this degree.




I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web