Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Iowa Disaster Assistance Grants available through MICA

Tama County Declared Eligible Due To Flooding

June 9, 2013
Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

MICA will be administering applications for the Iowa Disaster Assistance Grant to local families in need with an income lower than twice the national poverty limit ($47,100 for a family of four).

The grant provides a maximum of $5,000 to aid in structural repairs, debris removal, electrical repair, clothing, temporary housing, the purchase of dehumidifiers, sump pumps or replacement water heaters, and other disaster-related issues.

Three of MICA's five core service counties, Tama Poweshiek and Marshall were declared disaster areas due to flooding and will be eligible for assistance.

To apply for the Iowa Disaster Assistance Grant, visit the MICA family development center in your county.

In Tama County, visit 105 S. State St in Tama or call 641-484-4713.

To complete the application, you will need to bring proof of income, photo identification for all adults in the household, and a copy of your homeowners or renters insurance.

Fact Box

For full area news coverage subscribe today: 52 issues of The News-Herald & 52 issues of The Toledo Chronicle -

$55 a year in Iowa $57.60 outside Iowa

By credit card: call 642-484-2841 - Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

By mail: Tama/Grundy Publishing, Box 118, Tama IA 52339

In person: Office- 220 W. 3rd Tama - 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Mon-Fri.

If you are already in one of MICA's existing programs such as LIHEAP or WIC, you do not need to bring further proof of income.

Applicants must file within 45 days of the governor's disaster declaration. Marshall and Tama counties were declared disaster areas on May 28 and Poweshiek County on May 29.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web