Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Flooding backs off - Tama County is contiguous federal farm disaster area

June 7, 2013
By John Speer - Editor ( , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

With an outlook for more rain forecast on Wednesday, flood conditions in Tama County remain uncertain.

U.S. Highway 63 south of Tama was reopened over the past weekend and the threat to the U.S. 30 Expressway west of Toledo and north of Montour appeared to subside.

Tama County Road E66 along the north side of Chelsea was reopened to traffic but plenty of water was still seen in the town on Tuesday.

Article Photos

A row boat was still the favored means to reach a couple of homes in an area just east of Chelsea on Tuesday morning, June 4, as flooding continued there and another shot of rain fell. Roads into Chelsea were still covered with water but had subsided and Tama County Road E66 was open after earlier being shut down due to flooding.
News-Herald/John Speer

The News-Herald website- will be updated with new information.

Meanwhile, Tama County was included as a contiguous county in a USDA?diaster area.

Here's the news release:

Iowa State Executive Director for USDA Farm Service Agency, John R Whitaker, announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 39 Iowa counties as part of a Presidential Major Disaster Designation.

Eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses caused by severe storms, straight-line winds, and flooding from April 17, 2013 through April 30, 2013 may be eligible for low-interest emergency loans.

The Presidential Major Disaster Designation has been issued for 19 Iowa counties as the primary disaster area.

A total of 17 counties including Iowa County in central-eastern Iowa are among the primary counties. A total of 20 Iowa counties are contiguous to this designated disaster area, making these producers also potentially eligible for program based on this designation.

Contiguous counties in the area in addition to Tama are Benton, Poweshiek and Jasper.

The Farm Service Agency may make Emergency Loans to eligible family farmers which will enable them to return to their normal operations if they sustained qualifying losses resulting from natural disaster. Physical loss loans may be made to eligible farmers to enable them to repair or replace damaged or destroyed physical property, including livestock losses, essential to the success of the farming operation. Examples of property commonly affected include; essential farm buildings, fixtures to real estate, equipment, livestock and harvested or stored crops. Applicant must be unable to obtain credit from other usual sources to qualify for the Farm Service Agency Farm Loan Program assistance.

The final date for making application under this designation is January 31, 2014.

Interested farmers may contact their local County FSA office for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Information can also be found on-line at



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web