Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

South Tama boys honored at postseason banquet

March 14, 2013
By Jimmy Gillispie - Sports Editor ( , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

South Tama boys basketball players received several awards, along with gifts from coach Lonnie Hammond, at their annual postseason banquet Sunday evening.

The Trojans enjoyed a potluck dinner before discussing their season and collecting awards. Hammond reviewed the season in which the Trojans finished 6-16 and 5-9 in the league. The Trojans finished tied for fourth out of eight teams in the league.

The first awards were the letter winners. They were Sam Kuhter, Clay Waterbury, Brad Evans, Nate Hala, Tyler Martens, Ian Slagle, Trevor Yuska, Kaleb Davenport, Jose Fonseca, Daryl Bidwell, Drake Cherveny, Grant Koch, Dalton Doyle and Alec Hill. Fonseca and Waterbury were also honored as the team captains for the 2012-2013 season.

Article Photos

Six South Tama boys basketball players were selected to the All-Academic North Iowa Cedar League West Division team. They had to be a junior or senior, earn a varsity letter and maintain a 3.3 or higher GPA. The STC recipients, from left, were Clay Waterbury, Sam Kuhter, Nate Hala, Brad Evans, Drake Cherveny and Daryl Bidwell.

Hammond presented three of his players with awards from the North Iowa Cedar League. Seniors Fonseca and Kuhter were selected Second-Team All-NICL West and Waterbury were named Honorable Mention All-NICL West.

Six STC players also received academic honors from the league. They were given certificates for being selected to the NICL West All-Academic team, which were given to juniors or seniors who earned a varsity letter while maintaining a 3.33 GPA. The STC players receiving the honor were Bidwell, Cherveny, Evans, Hala, Kuhter and Waterbury.

Waterbury also received another academic honor Sunday night. He was chosen as an Iowa Basketball Coaches Association Academic All-District Award. To qualify for this, a player must be a senior, score 25 or higher on the ACT and start in at least 75 percent of games during the season.

The STC players voted on awards after the season and those receiving the awards were given plaques. The award recipients voted by the players were:

Offensive MVP - Jose Fonseca

Defensive MVP Sam Kuhter

Most Improved - Ian Slagle

Columbia Blue Teammate Award - Clay Waterbury and Trevor Yuska



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web