Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Three STC Trojans chosen to All-NICL team

March 14, 2013
By Chronicle/News Herald Staff , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

After finishing tied for fourth place in the North Iowa Cedar League West division, the South Tama boys basketball team was rewarded with a trio of seniors who were honored by league coaches.

STC's Jose Fonseca, Sam Kuhter and Clay Waterbury were selected to the 2012-2013 NICL West All-League team. Fonseca and Kuhter were both voted to the second-team, while Waterbury was one of the honorable mention players.

Fonseca averaged 13.3 points and 5.5 rebounds per league game this season. Kuhter averaged 12 points in NICL action. Waterbury was the STC representative on the honorable mention list. Each team had one player chosen as honorable mention.

Article Photos

A trio of South Tama boys basketball seniors were to the all-league team by the North Iowa Cedar League West Division coaches. They are, from left, Jose Fonseca (2nd team), Sam Kuhter (2nd team) and Clay Waterbury (honorable mention).

West Marshall split the NICL West Division boys' basketball title for the first time in three seasons, and the league's top honors were also divided. West Marshall junior Duncan Ferch and AGWSR senior Josh Bagley were named the conference's co-Players of the Year, while the Trojans' Paul deNeui and Gladbrook-Reinbeck's Scott Kiburis were named co-Coaches of the Year after their teams split the NICL West crown.

Bagley's all-NICL West first-team selection is his third in as many years, and his second straight as a unanimous pick. The senior guard scored a league-leading 22.4 points per game in conference play.

Ferch finished second in the conference scoring race with 18.2 ppg while also ending fourth in rebounding (7.3 rpg) in gaining unanimous selection. This is Ferch's second consecutive all-NICL West first team honor and third overall.

Gladbrook-Reinbeck gained most of the remaining first-team honors with three selections on the seven-player squad. Sophomore center Zach Pierce was the only other unanimous choice after finishing as one of three players in the conference to rank in the top five in both scoring and rebounding. Pierce averaged 16.5 points and 7.1 rebounds in league play.

G-R senior Jacob Smoldt earned his third all-conference selection, this his first as a first-teamer. He finished 15th in scoring (10.9), seventh in rebounding (5.6) and second in total assists (58). Rebel sophomore point guard Camden Kickbush put in 12 points per game on his way to his first all-conference selection.

A pair of juniors rounded out the all-NICL West first team. BCLUW's Conner Ubben was singled out by opposing coaches but still scored 11.9 ppg in league play, while South Hardin center Bryce Zeisneiss was fourth in scoring (14 ppg), second in rebounding (8.3 rpg) and tied for first in blocked shots (23).

Ferch's selection as conference co-Player of the Year makes it four times in West Marshall's five years in the NICL West that the top individual was a Trojan, following the likes of Michael Newton (2011-12), Dalton Ferch (2010-11) and Jake Shipley (2008-09). Grundy Center's Trevor Hook was named the league's outstanding player in 2009-10.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web