Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

STC senior trio earn All-NICL West honors

March 8, 2013
By Chronicle/News Herald Staff , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

South Tama's girls basketball team, which finished fourth out of eight teams in the North Iowa Cedar League West Division, landed three girls on the postseason recognition squad.

The Lady Trojans trio of all-NICL West players were all seniors. They were Kaleigh Sieck, Jade Rohach and Shelby Bradley. Sieck finished second in the league's scoring race, averaging 16.2 points per game in NICL West play. Sieck was the Lady Trojans only first-team nomination.

Rohach nearly averaged a double-double during leagues games with 10.2 points and 9.4 rebounds. Rohach was selected to the second-team all-NICL West.

Bradley was the final Lady Trojan to be honored. She was one of eight players on the honorable mention list.

On the whole season, Sieck averaged 16.8 points 3.86 steals per game for the Lady Trojans, who finished 11-11 (8-6 in NICL West). Rohach averaged 9.7 points and 9.4 rebounds on the whole season. She also recorded 57 blocks, which was second in the NICL West and 11th in Class 3A. Bradley scored 7.64 points and dished 2.86 assists per game.

Conference co-champion Grundy Center returned two members to the all-NICL West Division girls' basketball first team, led by Outstanding Player Sam Meyers.

Fact Box

Girls basketball

NICL West Division

All-Conference 2012-2013

1st team

Sam Meyers, Grundy Center

Heather Hook, Grundy Center

Jennifer Davis, West Marshall

Kaleigh Sieck, South Tama

McKenna Hotopp, West Marshall

Kristen Zacharias, AGWSR

Emily Snider, Gladbrook-Reinbeck

2nd team

Whitney Benson, West Marshall

Sydney Beals, West Marshall

Riley Ackerman, Grundy Center

Jade Rohach, South Tama

Kayla Prosser, South Hardin

Jayne Wiarda, AGWSR

Ella Frazier, AGWSR

Honorable Mention

Madison Fryslie, AGWSR

Olivia Callaway, BCLUW

Ashley Allen, East Marshall

Erin Wentzien, Gladbrook-Reinbeck

Sabrina DeHerrera, South Hardin

Shelby Bradley, South Tama

Rachel Freland, West Marshall

Outstanding Player

Sam Meyers, Grundy Center

Coach of the Year

Rob Drake, East Marshall

Meyers gained the conference's top individual award after leading the NICL West in scoring, averaging 18.6 points per game in league play. Her 18.8 overall scoring average ranks ninth in Class 1A.

Meyers was joined on the all-NICL West first team by teammate and fellow senior Heather Hook. Both were the conference's only unanimous first-team selections. Hook finished third in conference scoring at 15.9 ppg and was seventh in rebounding (8.1 rpg).

The Grundy Center duo was joined on the first team by first-timers in the other five spots, including two from conference co-champion West Marshall. Senior point guard McKenna Hotopp moved up from the second team for first-team selection this season after averaging 9 points, 5.4 rebounds and 5.4 assists in NICL West play, while junior post Jennifer Davis was fifth in conference scoring (14.5) and sixth in rebounding (9).

Davis was one of four players to gain their first all-conference honor with this year's first-team selection. The other three are seniors.

AGWSR forward Kristen Zacharias was eighth in conference scoring (12.9), while Gladbrook-Reinbeck point guard Emily Snider was fourth in scoring (15.6), tops in steals (71) and fifth in assists (57).

This marked the third all-conference honor of any sort for Meyer, Hook and Hotopp. Meyers was a two-time unanimous first-team selection.

East Marshall head coach Rob Drake was honored as the conference's Coach of the Year despite the Mustangs' win-loss record. Drake announced his lung cancer diagnosis to his team after their first game of the season but has braved on through various treatments as East Marshall ended the year 4-18 overall.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web