Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Tama County election wrap - record absentee votes

Obama leads way - Braley, Sodders, Fisher, Kucera, Kopsa, Anderson, Jordan are local winners

November 8, 2012
Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

By John Speer


Jimmy Gillispie

Article Photos

Then-Senator Barack Obama speaks in Toledo during the 2008 race for the Democrat presidnetial nomination.
Chronicle file/John Speer

The News-Herald

Tama County voters followed the state-wide results in supporting the reelection of President Barack Obama andVice President Joe Biden in Tuesday's General Election.The Democratic team led Republican challengers Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan 4,737-4,076. All vote totals for the county are unofficial. The board of Supervisors will canvas the vote on Wednesday, Nov. 14.

In the newly-formed 1st Congressional District US. Representative Bruce Braley (D-Waterloo) won in Tama County over Ben Lange (R-Independence) 4,679-3,945.

A record total of 2,731 absentee ballots kept a team of six poll workers busy past midnight on Tuesday, keeping the results of the four contest county up in the air. The final tally was distributed to the handful of people still waiting at the County Administrative?Building in Toledo just after 12:30 a.m.

When it was done, and the results from the District 36 Senate and District 72 House races in Marshall and Black Hawk counties added to the Tama County results, it showed Dean Fisher, (R-rural Garwin) with a 226-vote margin over Nathan Wrage (D-Gladbrook) for the House seat and Senator Steve?Sodders (D-State?Center) winning over challenger Jane Jech (R-Marshalltown) by 2,163 votes.

Before reapportionment following the 2010 Census, Lance Horbach (R-Tama) and Betty De Boef (R-What Cheer) had represented portions of Tama County in the Iowa House. Neither sought reelection this year.

State Senator Tim Kapucian (R-Keystone) represented Tama county in the Senate before redistricting.

In the race for Tama County Sheriff incumbent Dennis Kucera (R-Traer) won over challenger Deputy Sheriff Bryan Ellenbecker (D-Tama) 5,089-3,733.

For the Tama County 3rd District Supervisor post, Dan Anderson (D-rural Tama) defeated Luke Squiers (R-rural Tama) 1,619 - 863.

Tama County Auditor and Commissioner of Elections Laura Kopsa (D-Tama) won a second, full four-year term with a total of 6,895 votes..

2nd District Supervisor Kendall Jordan (D-Toledo) was returned to a second four-year term with 2,233 votes.

Both ran without opposition.

In Tama County the vote for retention of Supreme Court Justice David Wiggins was - YES 3,271 NO 4,009. All other judges received a favorable retention vote in the county.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web