Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

South Tama School Board, Ia. Valley levy vote Sept. 13

September 12, 2011
By John Speer, Editor •
TOLEDO CHRONICLE- Incumbent school board members are the only candidates on the ballot in the South Tama school election next Tuesday.

Seeking reelection to four-year terms are District 2 - Mark McFate, Toledo, District 3- Anne Michael, Tama and District 5- Jackie Dvorak, Chelsea.

Polls in the South Tama District are open from noon- 8 p.m. Absentee ballots returned by mail must be postmarked by Sept 12 to be counted. Absentee ballots may also be hand-delivered to the office of Commissioner of?Elections Laura Kopsa in the Tama County Administration Building in Toledo through Sept. 13.

Voters in the South Tama District are eligible to vote for all director positions. Director candidates are required to reside within the boundaries of their respective district.

Iowa Valley Community College

District Levy Renewal

Also on the ballot is renewal of a 20 1/4 cents per $1,000 valuation physical plant levy for the Iowa Valley Community?College District. It would take effect at the expiration of the current levy in 2015 and be in effect for a 10-year period.

Christopher Duree, chancellor of the Iowa Valley District, told The Chronicle the funding is used to help pay utility and building maintenance costs. He said utility costs alone run over $1 million a year for the Iowa Valley district.

He said all 155 Iowa community college districts have a levy in place.

The Iowa Valley levy has been in place for 32 of the past 35 years. Voters in all 14 school districts which make up the college district will vote on the levy with a majority vote compiled district-wide required for passage.

Duree said the levy “helps to keep higher education available and affordable.”

The 20 1/4 cents per $1,000 valuation is applied to residential, agricultural and commercial properties.




I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web