Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Tama, Marshall counties thrown together in plan ‘1’

Initial Proposal Puts Both In Same Iowa House, Senate Districts

April 5, 2011
By John Speer, Editor •
TOLEDO CHRONICLE- All of Tama County and much of neighboring Marshall County would compose new Iowa House and Senate districts if the plan unveiled last Thursday receives final Legislative approval. The proposed new House District 72 would skirt the City of Marshalltown.

Proposed Senate District 36 would also include all of Tama County and much of Marshall County including the City of Marshalltown.

Whether the Iowa Legislature agrees to accept the first plan is unknown this early. State Representative Lance Horbach (R-Tama) told The Chronicle, “The members of both parties are still reviewing the first Iowa redistricting map. I expect a stronger analysis early next week and a caucus meeting to openly discuss the individual district situations.”

New boundaries are required to be formed because of population shifts based upon the recently released 2010 U.S. Census data. The reapportionment process takes place every 10 years. The Iowa Legislative Services Agency, a non-partisan office, is charged with making the initial redistricting plan. Hearings on the proposed plans are being conducted in four locations across Iowa this week.

Currently Horbach represents all but three townships in Tama County combined with all of Grundy County in House District 40. Rep. Betty DeBoef (R-What Cheer) represents Richland, Columbia and Salt Creek townships including the City of Chelsea as a portion of House District 76.

The proposed new House District 72 would combine Tama County with nine Marshall County townships including the cities of LeGrand, Melbourne, State Center, Gilman, Laurel, Rhodes, Clemons, St. Anthony and Haverhill.

In addition, Black Hawk County townships of Eagle Grove and Big Creek including LaPorte City would be part of the 72nd.

Similarly on the Iowa Senate side, all of Tama County along with the same areas in Black Hawk County would be combined with most of Marshall County including the city of Marshalltown to form Senate District 36.

State Senator Tim Kapucian (R-Keystone) currently represents all of Tama County as part of Senate District 20 except Columbia, Richland and Salt Creek townships.

The three townships, located in the southern tier, are now represented by State Senator Tom Rielly (D-Oskaloosa.)

Marshall County is currently represented by State Senator Steven Sodders (D-State Center) and Representative Mark Smith (D-Marshalltown).

Sodders’s Senate District 22 is composed of Marshall and Hardin counties.

Smith’s House District 43 is made up of the city of Marshalltown area areas north and east to Hardin and Grundy county lines.

State Representative Annette Sweeney (R-Eldora) represents the other areas of Marshall County which currently comprise a portion of House District 44.

A small portion of LeGrand is in Tama County and in the 40th House District.

Replace Des Moines with Waterloo-Cedar Rapids-Dubuque for U.S. House District

By John Speer

Tama County would be part of Iowa’s 1st Congressional District in the first proposed redistricting based upon the 2010 Census data.

Instead of a bent south and westward, the county would join those in northeastern Iowa to make up the new district.

Included would be the counties of Marshall, Black Hawk, Benton, Linn, Poweshiek, Iowa, Jones, Jackson, Dubuque, Delaware, Buchanan, Bremer, Fayette, Clayton, Worth, Mitchell, Howard, Winneshiek and Allamakee.

Officials say although Iowa gained some population over the past decade, it did not grow as much as some other states and will lose one seat in the 435-member U.S. House of Representatives beginning with the 2012 election.

U.S. Congressman Leonard Boswell (D-Des Moines) currently represents Tama County in the U.S. House.

Article Photos

Proposed Iowa Senate District 3 36 would combine Tama and much of Marshall counties and include a small portion of southeastern Black Hawk County.
Iowa Legislative Services Agency maps



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web